Field Operations Bureau

The Operations Division is the largest division of the Powder Springs Police Department. The Operations Bureau includes Patrol andSpecial Operations Unit. The bureau is comprised of 1 Patrol Captain, 1 Special Operations Captain, 2 lieutenants, 5 sergeants, 2 K-9 officers, 2 detectives and 12 Patrol officers. There are two shifts: day watch and morning watch. Officers assigned to these watches work 12-hour shifts from either 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. or 6 p.m. to 6 a.m. 

Uniformed patrol officers are typically the first responders to any dispatched or self-initiated incident. Officers on Patrol:

  • Respond to domestic disturbances, thefts, burglaries, robberies, etc.
  • Deal with a host of high-stress situations and crimes
  • Perform traffic stops and investigate traffic accidents
  • Enforcing local, state, and federal laws

Special Operations Unit is responsible for:

  • Enforcing all City Ordinances
  • Responding to call for service when patrol is unavailable
  • Enforcing traffic laws
  • Enforcing local, state, and federal laws
  • Specialized Traffic Enforcement
  • Federal and Local Task Force Officers
Staff Contacts

Capt. Derick Smith
Uniform Patrol Commander
Ph: 770-943-1616

Capt. Jason Holcombe

Special Operations Commander


Ph. 770-943-1616